EPSA Fellowships: Call for Institutional Partners

Submitted by Stephan Hartmann (MCMP, LMU Munich).


Call for Institutional Partners

The European Philosophy of Science Association (EPSA) is looking for institutional partners to participate as host institutions in its scheme of “EPSA Fellowships for junior philosophers working in Central and Eastern Europe”. Participating institutions would host a fellow for approximately one month in the academic year 2018/19, and they would cover his/her travel, accommodation and living expenses during that time.

The aim of the scheme is to foster contact and collaboration between philosophers of science working in Eastern Europe with their colleagues in Western Europe. Fellowships are aimed at philosophers of science who have been awarded their PhD no more than ten years prior to the application deadline and who work in one of the following countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Ukraine and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

EPSA is organising the fellowships for the second time after a successful first round in the academic year 2015/16. The first round of fellowships was made possible due to the generous participation of the following institutions:

  • Academy of Finland Centre of Excellence in the Philosophy of the Social Sciences (TINT), University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Centre for Logic and Philosophy of Science, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science (CPNSS), London School of Economics, U.K.
  • Department of Philosophy, University of Bergen, Norway
  • Descartes Centre for the History and Philosophy of the Sciences and the Humanities,University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
  • Duesseldorf Center for Logic and Philosophy of Science (DCLPS), Germany
  • Egenis – the Centre for the Study of Life Sciences, University of Exeter, U.K.
  • Erasmus Institute for Philosophy and Economics (EIPE), Faculty of Philosophy, Erasmus University of Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • Faculty of Philosophy, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
  • Institute for History and Philosophy of Science and Techniques (IHPST), University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, France
  • Institute of Philosophy, University of Hannover, Germany
  • Institute Vienna Circle, University of Vienna, Austria
  • LOGOS Group and Department of Logic, History and Philosophy of Science, University of Barcelona, Spain
  • Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy (MCMP), LMU Munich, Germany

Most of these institutions are going to participate again in the 2018/19 round. EPSA now seeks to broaden the group even further. If your institution would like to join the above and participate in the scheme, please contact Raffaella Campaner (raffaella.campaner@unibo.it) or Roman Frigg (r.p.frigg@lse.ac.uk) before the end of April.