CfP: The Second Irvine-London-Munich-PoliMi-Salzburg Conference in Philosophy and Foundations of Physics (University of Salzburg, September 2-3, 2019, Deadline: July 1, 2019)

Submitted by Erik Curiel (MCMP, LMU Munich).


The Irvine-London-Munich-PoliMi-Salzburg Collaboration invites papers for the following event: 

The Second Irvine-London-Munich-PoliMi-Salzburg Conference in Philosophy and Foundations of Physics 

Department of Philosophy (KGW), University of Salzburg 
HS 301, Franziskanergasse 1, 5020 Salzburg (Austria

2-3 September, 2019 


Over the past decades, important contributions to the mathematical and conceptual foundations of physical theories have been made within the philosophical community.  Conversely, critical analysis of the formal structures of our best physical theories inform central philosophical concerns, and in some cases new theorems have been proven and new lines of argument developed that are of philosophical significance.  This conference series aims to bring together philosophers, physicists, and mathematicians working on such issues.  This year’s event will be held on September 2-3, 2019 at the University of Salzburg (Austria).  It will immediately precede a workshop on “Symmetry and Equivalence in Physics” taking place on September 3-4, 2019.  Speakers for that workshop include Adam Caulton (Oxford), Ben Feintzeig (Washington), Doreen Fraser (Waterloo), Laura Ruetsche (Michigan), Giovanni Valente (Milan), and David Wallace (USC). 

Call for papers 

We invite the submission of papers on any topic of philosophy and foundations of physics by younger researchers.  Submissions by graduate students and post-doctoral scholars are particularly encouraged and will be given priority.  Papers of no longer than 5000 words should be submitted via EasyChair ( by 1 July, 2019.  Submissions should include a title, and a brief abstract (up to 200 words), and should be blinded for peer review.  They should be PDF files.  Decisions will be communicated soon after.

We are committed to fostering diversity and equality in our programs.  Submissions from underrepresented groups are particularly welcome.  

Erik Curiel, MCMP/LMU Munich
Patricia Palacios, University of Salzburg
Bryan Roberts, London School of Economics
Giovanni Valente, Politecnico di Milano
Jim Weatherall, University of California, Irvine
Charlotte Werndl, University of Salzburg