CFP: Society for the Metaphysics of Science (3d Annual Conference), New York.

Submitted by Markus Schrenk, University of Duesseldorf.

After two successful meetings (at Rutgers, Newark in 2015 and the University of Geneva in 2016), the Society for the Metaphysics of Science (SMS) will be holding its third annual conference on October 5-7, 2017 at Fordham University, New York.

Our keynote speaker will be
Michael Strevens (NYU)

In addition, Jessica Wilson (U Toronto) will deliver a presidential address.

All other sessions will comprise submitted papers.

As well as various presentations, the conference will also feature an organizational meeting of the Society which will elect officers, continue to make various policies, plan future conferences, etc. Both those interested in presenting papers and/or participating in the Society are invited to the conference.

For more information on the society, see the Society for the Metaphysics of Science web page. SMS also has a facebook page.

At the conference, presentations will be 30 minutes, with a 10 minutes comment, 5 min reply, and 15 minutes for Q&A. Submissions should be on a topic in the metaphysics of science broadly construed, of no more than 4,500 words and should include an abstract of ~150 words and a word count. All papers must employ gender-neutral language and be prepared for blind review.

Submissions must be made using the EasyChair online submission system at
The submission deadline is March 1, 2017. Notifications of acceptance will be delivered by May 15, 2017. Selected speakers should confirm their participation before May 22, 2017.

The conference will have a $50 registration fee for faculty and post-docs, $10 for graduate students, $1 for emeritus faculty.

The Society would like to thank the Department of Philosophy at Fordham University for support.

Contact mkistler[AT]univ-paris1[DOT]fr for further information.

Program Committee:
Max Kistler, (U Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne), Chair
Valia Allori (Northern Illinois U)
Laura Franklin-Hall (New York U)
Carl Gillett (Northern Illinois U)
Thomas Pradeu (CNRS and U Bordeaux)
Johanna Wolff (LMU Munich)

On behalf of:
Jessica Wilson, President, Society for the Metaphysics of Science
William Jaworski, Chair of the Local Organizing Committee, SMS 2017
Max Kistler, Chair of the Program Committee, SMS 2017
Ken Aizawa, Secretary/Treasurer SMS