CfP: Philosophy of Science: Past, Present and Future. (October 17-19, 2024, Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science)

In connection with the centenary of the Vienna Circle and the upcoming 75th anniversary of the Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science, we are organizing a conference titled Philosophy of Science: Past, Present and Future. This conference will take place on October 17-19, 2024, and will be held at the University of Minnesota. 

The conference will consist of three sessions. First, a group of HOPOS scholars will reflect on the institutional history of philosophy of science, exploring how journals, research centers, societies, departments, and funding agencies have shaped the discipline as we know it today. Next, a group of contemporary philosophers of science (prominent researchers, journal editors, society presidents, and research center directors) will reflect on the current status of the profession through a series of papers and round table conversations. Finally, a group of promising junior scholars will offer their vision of what philosophy of science could or should look like in the decades to come.

Confirmed Speakers 

Anna Alexandrova (University of Cambridge), Holly Andersen (Simon Fraser University), Liam Kofi Bright (London School of Economics), Carl Craver (Washington University-St. Louis), Kathleen Creel (Northeastern University), Fons Dewulf (TiLPS, Tilburg University), Heather Douglas (Michigan State University), Stephan Hartmann (MCMP, LMU Munich), Joel Isaac (University of Chicago), Carole Lee (University of Washington), Hannes Leitgeb (MCMP, LMU Munich), Sabina Leonelli (University of Exeter), Edouard Machery (University of Pittsburgh), Michela Massimi (University of Edinburgh), Bennett McNulty (University of Minnesota), Wendy Parker (Virgina Tech), Lydia Patton (Virginia Tech), Angela Potochnik (University of Cincinatti), George Reisch (Independent scholar), Alan Richardson (University of British Columbia), Stéphanie Ruphy (ENS-University of Paris), Bryan Roberts (London School of Economics), Janet Stemwedel (San José State University), Thomas Uebel (University of Manchester), James Weatherall (UC Irvine) 

Scientific Committee 

Bas van Fraassen (Princeton University), Paul Hoyningen-Huene (Leibniz University Hannover), Philip Kitcher (Columbia University), Helen Longino (Stanford University), Deborah Mayo (Virginia Tech), Sandra Mitchell (University of Pittsburgh), Friedrich Stadler (University of Vienna), Alison Wylie (University of British Columbia) 


Alan Love (MCPS, University of Minnesota), Sander Verhaegh (TiLPS, Tilburg University) 

Submission guidelines 

We invite philosophers of science and HOPOS scholars to submit proposals for poster presentations in conjunction with the conference theme. Submissions on all topics related to the past, present, or future of philosophy of science broadly construed are welcome. Please submit abstracts of 500 words (maximum) suitable for blind review to and indicate whether you would like to present your poster in the ‘Past’, the ‘Present’, or the ‘Future’ section. 

In every section of the conference with invited speakers, a few paper slots will be reserved for contributed abstracts. Please indicate whether you would like your poster proposal to be considered for such a slot. Oral presentations in the ‘Future’ section will be exclusively reserved for junior scholars (graduate students or scholars who obtained their PhD within the last six years). 

A curated subset of the proceedings will be published in the Minnesota Studies in Philosophy of Science series with contributors revising manuscripts in light of conference feedback and peer review comments. 

Dates and Deadlines 

April 30: Submission deadline 

May 31: Notifications 

October 17-19: Conference 

More information 

This conference is hosted by the Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science in the College of 

Liberal Arts at the University of Minnesota (Twin Cities). Questions about the conference can be 

directed to Alan Love (aclove[at] and Sander Verhaegh (a.a.verhaegh[at]