CfA: 2nd International Rationality Summer Institute (IRSI2 – Kloster Irsee, Germany, 2-14 September 2018)

Submitted by Stephan Hartmann (MCMP, LMU Munich).

Call for applications for all-inclusive stipends:

2nd International Rationality Summer Institute (IRSI2)

Kloster Irsee, Germany
September 2-14, 2018

Rationality is central to many disciplines, including philosophy, psychology, cognitive science, and economics. This may suggest that research in these fields is conducted in close concert. But researchers in these disciplines unfortunately seldom have the chance to collaborate with and learn from one another. The aim of the International Rationality Summer Institutes (IRSI) is to overcome this division by providing an environment in which students can learn the state-of-the-art research on rationality in each of the above contributing disciplines.

Building on the great success of IRSI1 which focused on individual rationality, IRSI2 (Kloster Irsee, Germany, 2-14 September 2018) will focus on: collective rationality. IRSI2 is targeted at doctoral students and early-career postdocs working on rationality. The organizers plan to host a group of about 40 students, with a high level of international diversity and interdisciplinarity.

The faculty will be internationally leading experts in rationality research, including: Christina Bicchieri (University of Pennsylvania), Ophelia Deroy (LMU Munich), Franz Dietrich (Paris School of Economics, CNRS), Catarina Dutilh Novaes (University of Groningen/MCMP), Kenny Easwaran (Texas A&M University), Klaus Fiedler (University of Heidelberg), Nadine Fleischhut (Max Planck Institute for Human Development), L. Estefania Gazzo Castañeda (Justus-Liebig-University Gießen), Keise Izuma (The University of York), Markus Knauff (Justus-Liebig-University Gießen), Martin Kocher (LMU Munich), Aidan Lyon (University of Maryland/MCMP), Cailin O’Connor (University of California, Irvine), Don Saari (University of California, Irvine), Christin Schulze (Max Planck Institute for Human Development), Sonja Smets (University of Amsterdam), Fernando R. Velazquez Quesada (University of Amsterdam), Kai Vogeley (University Clinic of Cologne), and Kevin Zollmann (Carnegie Mellon University/MCMP). There will also be keynote lectures by Dan Sperber (Central European University / Institut Jean Nicod) and Ralph Wedgwood (University of Southern California). The organisers are Jean Baccelli, Stephan Hartmann, and Reuben Stern, from the Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy (MCMP, LMU Munich).

To apply for an all-inclusive IRSI2 stipend (travel, accommodation, full board, social program), please follow the instructions here. The deadline for applications is: April 1, 2018. Notifications of acceptance will be sent by: April 15, 2018.

IRSI2 is generously funded by the VolkswagenStiftung.